Since about a year I run little art* project together with my friend Gwendolyn: “Korrespondenzen” (English: „correspondence “). For quite a while I’ve been thinking about how we can bring her painting and my photography together. During a night out (with lots of beer), the idea was born: We give each other a subject, a task which is starting point for her painting or my photo. The work of the one, or rather what he/she writes about it in a postcard, is the starting point for the next work.
It was similar with photosport.de: Here we were a group of photo enthusiasts, who had the same subject at the same time and which we had to turn into a photo. There was also some competition, because the visitors of our website could vote for their favorites image. At some point, shooting the image became more and more compulsory and we so stopped the project when it it still was fun.
How does our project work? And why „correspondence “? This is the process: I shoot a photo and send Gwenny a postcard, in which I write something about the work. This is not an exact description, but just what I’d like to tell her about it. Gwenny will then create her work, inspired by my postcard. When her work is finished, she sends me a postcard, which is the task for my next photo. Same procedure, back and forth. We don’t see the work of the other until we’ve finished our next one.
The project is great fun! As with photosport.de, I try a lot of new things: Underwater photography, panorama from drone shots, nude photography, …
I have a task, inspiration, input, and I need to think about how I can transform this into a photograph. My first ideas come often spontaneously, sometimes I need more time to create a plan. Some I need plenty of preparation (shoot in the swimming pool), other motifs jump on me during a photo walk. There are only a few rules and it doesn’t have to be a postcard: Twice I sent Gwenny a CD with only one song. We take our time. The pleasure to create and to be creative are goal.
This week we published our works (and correspondence) on Gwenny’s website: Korrespondenzen
[*is this art? I don’t know…]
Here are my photos for the project. For the complete picture, please visit the project page (work in progress!).

(Visited 8 times)

Seit etwa einem Jahr betreibe ich mit meiner Freundin Gwendolyn ein kleines Kunstprojekt*: „Korrespondenzen“. Ich überlegte schon eine Weile, wie wir ihre Malerei und meine Fotografie zusammenbringen können. Bei einem Kneipenabend (mit jeder Menge Bier) wurde dann die Idee geboren: Wir stellen uns gegenseitig abwechselnd eine Aufgabe, die in einem Gemälde bzw. einer Fotografie umgesetzt werden muss. Dabei ist das Werk des einen, oder vielmehr was derjenige darüber mitteilt, der Startpunkt für das Werk des anderen.

Ähnlich war es bei photosport.de: Hier waren wir eine Gruppe von Fotoenthusiasten, die zeitgleich dasselbe Thema hatten und welches jeder in einem Foto umsetzen mussten. Etwas Wettbewerb war auch dabei, weil die Besucher unser Webseite für ihren Favoriten stimmen konnten. Irgendwann wurde dann das Fotografieren mehr zur Pflicht und wir haben das Projekt beendet.

Wie funktioniert nun Korrespondenzen? Und warum heißt es Korrespondenzen? So ist der Ablauf: Ich mache ein Foto und schicke Gwenny eine Postkarte, in der ich etwas zu dem Werk schreibe. Das ist keine genaue Beschreibung, sondern das, was ich ihr mitteilen möchte. Gwenny malt nun ihr Bild, inspiriert durch meine Postkarte. Ist ihr Werk fertig, schreibt sie mir wiederum eine Postkarte, welche die Aufgabe für mein nächstes Foto ist. So geht es immer hin und her. Das Werk des anderen darf man erst sehen, wenn man seine Aufgabe „erledigt“ hat.

Das Projekt macht große Freude! Wie schon bei photosport.de probiere ich viele neue Dinge aus: Unterwasserfotografie, Panoramabild aus Fotos von einer Drone, Aktfotografie, …

Ich bekomme Input, Inspiration, Aufgabe und muss überlegen, wie ich das in einem Bild umsetzen kann. Oft habe ich spontan eine Idee, manchmal muss ich länger überlegen. Einiges braucht viel Vorbereitung (Schwimmbad Heslach), andere Motive springen beim „Photowalk“ ins Auge. Es gibt nur wenig Regeln und es muss auch nicht immer eine Postkarte sein: Zweimal habe ich Gwenny eine CD mit einem Lied gesendet. Wir lassen uns Zeit, die Lust an der „Arbeit“ und die Kreativität stehen im Vordergrund.

Diese Woche haben wir unsere Arbeiten (und die Korrespondenz dazu) auf Gwennys Webseite veröffentlicht: Korrespondenzen

[*Ist das Kunst? Ich weiß es nicht… ]

Hier nur meine Beiträge zum Projekt. Für das komplette Bild, besuche unsere Projektseite.

(Visited 26 times)