Time flies and our 5 days in Taipei are over. Next destination: Take the train to Taichung, pick up our rental car and head into the mountains.

Traveling by train is quite confortable, if you manage to get a ticket… The reservation over the web was kind of complicated but finally Johannes (hero!) fixed us four tickets.
The agent from the car rental picked us up at the Taichung railway station and gave us the 18 years old Toyota which had over 314,000 km on his back. Nevermind, firt priority: our lagguage has to fit in. Started of direction mountains with a short stop-over at the giant Buddha statue in Changhua. Boy, it is HOT. Temperature well over 30 degrees C and very humid.

Massif Central

Relief in the mountains on 2000 m altitude: Much cooler…and foggy. The next day was even worse with heavy fog and rain and wind. Babs was very disapointed as she ws looking forward to do a hike at Hehuan mountain. But it poors down like hell and so we headed to Taroko Valley on the Central Island Highway. “Highway” sounds like driving fast but it’s the opposite. The road is in good condition but very bendy and steep.

Taroko Valley

The lanscape is truly incredible: Deep and steep valleys, high mountains and all covered with endless green rainforest. We went for a hike but had to stop after a short while because the trail was closed due to landslides and falling rocks. So we went to the park information and a set up a plan for the next day. The ranger was very helpful, gave us many tips and she took us to the police post next door for the entry permit. That took a while…3 copies, 3 times stamped, stapled and folded. The police officer was very friendly though. Next day nobody asked us for a permit…

The next day we did our rain forrest hike. RAIN forrest hike. RAIN. It poored down the whole day. The trail itself was well maintained, many signs, uphill, downhill through the jungle. We figured why the tour was not classified under “hiking” but “climbing”: often we needed both our hands to get up or down. But it wasn’t a real climbing tour more like an alpine backbacking tour. After a while we’re soaked inside and outside but didn’t care. Because of the heavy and constant rain I didn’t shot man pictures. Although my X-Pro2 is weather resistant, my lens (18-55mm) is not.

The Flood

Taiwan is facing massive rain at the moment. Schools and Universities were closed, streets like streams, bridges washed away, landslides… The website of the Taiwanese weather service provides good information on what’s going on.
Taiwan has a very well cell phone coverage (4G almost everywhere). I bought a preapaid SIM card on arrival with a data flat rate. So while traveling we can check on the cell phone where it is worst at the moment.

Overall we are not very much effected by the extreme weather conditions. Anyway we would go crazy experiencing this gorgeous landscabe AND good wather…

(Visited 195 times)

Die 5 Tage in Taipei sind wie im Flug vergangen. Die nächste Etappe steht an: Mit dem Zug nach Taichung, den Mietwagen übernehmen und in die Berge Richtung Hehuanshan Mountain.

Zugfahren ist echt komfortabel, wenn man erst mal ein Ticket hat… Die Reservierung über das Internet zu bekommen war etwas kompliziert aber Johannes (Held!) hat es geschafft. Unser Autovermieter hat uns am Bahnhof von Taichung abgeholt und uns den 18 jahre alten Toyota (314.000 km auf dem Tacho) übergeben. Hauptsache unser Gepäck passt rein. Dann in die Berge gedondelt und unterwegs den riesigen Buddha von Changhua angeschaut. Man kan reingehen, 3 Stockwerke hoch.
Heiß! Die Luft ist so feucht und es hat weit über 30 Grad. Wir sind fast überall die einzigen „Langnasen“.

Das Zentralmassiv

In den Bergen, auf 2000 m üM. endlich Abkühlung … und Nebel. Am nächsten Morgen hängt die Suppe dick drin in und wir fahren bei Regen los. Babs ist sehr enttäuscht, weil wir eigentlich eine Wanderung am Hehuanshan machen wollten. Aber es gießt aus Kübeln und stürmt dazu. Also weiter Richtung Taroko Schlucht, den Cross Island Highway entlang. „Highway“ klingt nach schnell fahren, ist aber nicht so. Die Straße ist zwar in gutem Zustand aber extrem kurvig und stellenweise steil.

Taroko Schlucht

Die Landschaft ist unglaublich: Tiefe, schroffe Täler, hohe Berge und alles mit Regenwald bedeckt. Die kleine Wanderung, die wir in der Tarokko Schlucht machen wollten, endete nach kurzer Strecke an einer Sperre. Wegen Steinschlag geschlossen. Also zum Infobüro der Parkverwaltung und für den nächsten Tag geplant. Die überaus hilfreiche Rangerin hat uns ausführlich beraten und geholfen das Permit für die Wanderung zu bekommen. Das stellt die Polizei nebenan aus und ist wahrlich ein rechter Verwaltungsakt! Aber freundlich, ordentlich und gewissenhaft: 3 mal gestempelt, fotokopiert, geheftet. Sehen wollte das keiner am nächsten Tag…

Am nächsten Tage dann auf zur Regenwaldwanderung. REGENwaldwanderung. REGEN-Waldwanderung. Es schüttet, der Himmel hat Tag der offenen Schleuse. Der Weg ist traumhaft schön, es geht bergauf, bergab durch den Dschungel und ist top in Schuss gut ausgeschildert. Warum die Route nicht bei „Hiking“, sondern bei „Climbing“ einsortiert ist, merken wir schon bald: Oft braucht man die Hände zur Hilfe. Es ist trotzdem kein Klettertour sondern ein alpine Wanderung. Nach einer Weile sind wir innen und außen nass und es ist egal. Wegen des anhaltende Regens habe ich nicht viel fotografiert. Mein Fuji X-Pro2 ist zwar wassergeschützt aber das Objektiv (18-55 mm) leider nicht.

Die Sintflut

Taiwan erlebt gerade eine Sintflut. Schulen und Unversitäten wurden geschlossen, Straßen überflutet, Brücken eingerissen. Es regnet und regnet. Beim Taiwanesischen Wetterdienst kam man das schöne verfolgen. Rechts die Wetterwarnung von gestern. „Extremely torrential rain“ lässt sich so ungefähr mit „extrem sintflutartiger Regen“ übersetzten.
Da das Handynetz in Taiwan perfekt ausgebaut ist (fast überall 4G) und ich mir für wenig Geld eine Simkarte mit Datenflatrate gekauft hatten, können wir unterwegs immer mal schauen, wo es gerade besonders schlimm ist.

Insgesamt haben wir aber Glück und bleiben von den Unbillen verschont. Diese tolle Landschaft UND schönes Wetter würden wir sowieso gar nicht aushalten…

(Visited 227 times)

© 2017 Oliver Wendel all rights reserved

Weitersagen: