After 25 hours traveling (Stuttgart-Taipei) we finally reached our first destination in Taiwan. We booked an apartment for 5 via AirBnB as our home base. We’re a group of 4 and have 3 weeks of time.

First impressions: Nice city, very modern, great public transportation system, people are not as open as e.g. in Thailand but once you are in contact very helpful and friendly. You stop in a metro station to check where to walk and imediately somebody asks if you need help.

I have travelled a couple of Asian countries (Thailand, Vietnam, India, Nepal, Japan) and so Taipei is not that “exotic” to me.

The city is very clean. Much cleaner than most of the European cities despite almost no trash bins in public.hen Städte.

Babs has orderd an “Easy Card” from the Tawanese Tourism Office in Frankfurt. You charge money on the card and can use it in a lot of shops, ride the metro and, best thing, hire the YouBikes (bicycles) that are found all over Taipei. Riding the bike in Taipei is fun because the city is flat, you can youse the broad sidewalks On the bike you can quckly ride from one metro station to the other or relax a bit (after an 8 hours walk through the city and museums). High humidity, hot, the airflow while driving is refreshing. Very relaxing!

Food: Lots of soups with different ingridiences, street stands, chickshops along the roads, barbecue. Chicken, fish, squid, ppork, beef, vegetables… After 4 days we all agree that it’s tasty but it could be a little more spicy. They use little salt and the  food is not hot.

First day it rained, little, harde,… Not a big issue because the shops are set back and so you stay dry while walking around. A little spray was refreshing on this warm day.

[Click on the image to enlarge]

(Visited 312 times)

Nach 25 Stunden (Haustür zu Haustür) waren wir endlich in Taiwan. Erste Station: Taipeh. Haben uns über AirBnB eine Wohnung für 5 Tage gemietet, unsere Home Base.

Erste Fazit: Sympathische Stadt, sehr modern, super ÖPVN System, die Menschen sind nicht so offen, wie beispielsweise in Thailand aber hat man mal Kontakt, sind sie extrem nett und hilfsbereit.  Steht man mal kurz in einer U-Bahnstation  um sich zu orientieren, wird man schon von einem aufmerksamen Menschen angesprochen.

„Exotisch“ ist die Stadt nicht so sehr. Zumindest wenn man schon in anderen asiatischen Ländern unterwegs war.

Es gibt fast keine Mülleimer im öffentlichen Raum, dennoch ist die Stadt sauberer als die meisten europäischen Städte.

Babs hatte sich vom Taiwanesischen Tourismusbüro in Frankfurt die „Easy Card“ schicken lassen. Die lädt man auf und kann damit in vielen Supermärkten, die U-Bahn fahrt oder, ganz genial, die überall rumstehenden YouBikes (Fahrräder) mieten. Das Radeln mach Spaß, weil Taipei flach ist und der breite Bürgersteig benutzt werden darf. So kann man schnell mal die Strecke zwischen zwei U-Bahnstationen überbrücken oder die müden Beine (nach 8h Wanderung durch die Stadt und das Museum) auflockern. Da es schwül warm ist, kühlt man im Radelfahrtwind auch etwas ab. Sehr entspannend!

Das Essen: Viel Suppe mit allerlei Einlage, kleine Garküchen, viele Straßenstände an denen gegrillt wird. Huhn, Fisch,  Tintenfisch, Schweinefleisch, Rindfleisch, Gemüse… Alles lecker aber wir sind uns nach nun 4 Tagen einig: Könnte etwas pikanter sein! Fast ohne Salz, nicht scharf.

Am ersten Tag hat es geregnet. War nicht schlimm, weil die Läden etwas zurückgesetzt sind und man so relativ trocken durch die Stadt kommt. Außerdem war es warm und der Regen eher erfrischend.

[Klick aufs Bild vergrößert die Ansicht]

(Visited 172 times)

© 2017 Oliver Wendel all rights reserved

Weitersagen: