...Underwater Love!

For a small art project that I’ve been running since May with a friend, I had decided some time ago that I want to do an underwater shoot in a pool…
In minds eye there was an images of a model in a red dress. But how, where, what equipment? You know me that I can develop a certain energy, if I have a plan for a project…

Location

Because I don’t know anyone with a private pool and these are normally not deep, I have written an E-Mail to the Stuttgart public pools authorities. I had no high hopes and rather expected that I get a rejection (“…too complicated, dangerous, against the rules, everyone could come,…”). After 3 days, I got a call from the city council and did actually receive a rejection. This was due to a very different reason than I had expected. Mrs. Rudolph would have liked to offer a shooting in one of the municipal baths. Unfortunately, because I must do that but outside the opening hours, and of course a lifeguard is necessary, she had to cancel it due to lack of personnel. She had enquired at all public pools in Stuttgart to facilitate the appointment and offered me to get in touch again in 2017. Because I didn’t want to postpone the project for such a long time, I had to look for another solution. The commitment of Mrs. Rudolph was very pleased and I was positively surprised about her open attitude towards my project. Thank you for this!

Next try: the public pool F3 “written in Fellbach, which is close-by Stuttgart. Fellbach answered to me right the next day and said “of course!”. Great!

Because I wanted rather do the shooting in Heslach, I was looking on the web for clubs that do their training in the Heslach pool. So I came across the Poizeisportverein Stuttgart’s Police Divers, who practice there every Monday night. Another idea has evolved in mind: what, if I even could lend diving equipment (I have a diving certificate), so I don’t have to go up to the urface all the time? After some E-Mail back and forth we had fixed an appointment (which was not easy due to my many business trips) Mr. Pride, head of the division, offered me to join there training and on top to use his diving equipment! So no more obstacles in the way for my shooting, I thought…

Model

How many models do I know  who want to engage in the dress on a diving and swimming adventure and also have time when I have? Karolin has pledged immediately. Unfortunately it didn’t work with the dates and so I talk to Gwendolyn, after a fruitless search. She absolutely doesn’t like to pose in front of a camera but because she loves water, dares to go swimming in Lake Constance in cold October, I could convince her. And she had time even to this date.

Equipment

A red flowing gown was required, ideally in synthetic fibre. Unfortunately that wasn’t found in any wardrobe. I checked out the costume rental “Das Gewand“. Luckily it was no problem for Lisa, that I wanted to use the dress in the pool. By conincidence I met a professional underwater filmmaker/photographer at the store, who does the well known commercials for O2. He has provided me with lots of tips, of which most I was unable to use due to my small budget.

I have no underwater camera and no underwater lamps. So I searched for a different way and bought a bag, in which I can put my camera for underwater use.

At the edge of the pool, I wanted set up studio flash that mimics the sun shining in the surface of the water. The flash should be triggerd by a radio trigger. Friend Bernd has said “can’t do that”. So I packed the camera with the remote trigger in the bag, droned it in a bucket with water and tried. Worked! However on the day of the shooting I read on the web that wireless trigger s only work on a short distances under water. Damn, what now? Eventually I bought a 6 m long plastic hose, got one end sealed by welding (done by my local butcher Kübler), where I put in the radio trigger. I connected the trigger with the flashporty by a  10 m long cable (which I still had to make on the same day). Another trigger on camera and the 2nd on in the hose close-by the camera worked well!

Shooting

Two hours before the shooting Gwendolyn came and tried the different dresses I rented and we decided for the final outfit. Babs then accompanied us in the swimming pool as a buddy for Gwendolyn.
For the “making of” I won my neighbor Simon, who shot of images from around the pool.

After everything was set up around an in the swimming pool the show began. Initially I tried to only use a snorkel, which was too cumbersome. I couldn’t have done the whole shooting without diving equipment and a tank! In total 45 minutes I was in the water and shot around 150 images. Everything worked great and I’m very happy with the results! See for yourself:

Fazit

That was a great event, which has once again expanded my range in photography. I canwll imagine that I will once again make something underwater in the near future (then you’re up, Karo) and I hope that I will get then the same great support.

Danke

  • My Model Gwendolyn!
  • Police Divers Stuttgart and in particular to Mr Stolz who was taking during the whole event and who lent me his equipment!
  • Simon, for shooting the making-of!
  • Babs for being our buddy, handing towels and helping to carry our equipment!
  • Ms. Rudolph from the Stuttgart City Authorities.

Warum eigentlich "Underwater Love"?

This must be underwater love
The way I feel it slipping all over me
This must be underwater love
The way I feel it

O que que é esse amor, d’água
Deve sentir muito parecido a esse amor
O que que é esse amor, d’água
Deve sentir muito parecido a esse amor
Esse amor com paixão, ai
Esse amor com paixão, ai que coisa

After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again
After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again
After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again

This must be underwater love
The way I feel it slipping all over me
This must be underwater love
The way I feel it

O que que é esse amor, d’água
Eu sei que eu não quero mais nada

Follow me now
To a place you only dream of
Before I came along

When I first saw you
I was deep in clear blue water
The sun was shining
Calling me to come and see you

I touched your soft skin
And you jumped in with your eyes closed
And a smile upon your face

Você vem, você vai
Você vem e cai

E vem aqui pra cá
Porque eu quero te beijar na sua boca
Que coisa louca

Vem aqui pra cá
Porque eu quero te beijar na sua boca
Ai que boca gostosa

After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again
After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again

Cai cai e tudo tudo cai
Tudo cai pra lá e pra cá
Pra lá e pra cá
E vamos nadar
Y vamos nadar e tudo tudo dá

This must be underwater love
The way I feel it slipping all over me
This must be underwater love
The way I feel it
Oh
Oh
d’água we are full

(Visited 21 times)

...Underwater Love!

Für ein kleines Kunstprojekt, dass ich seit Mai mit einer Freundin zusammen betreibe, hatte ich vor einiger Zeit entschieden, dass ich Unterwasseraufnahmen in einem Pool machen möchte…
Mir schwebten Fotos mit einem Modell in einem Kleid vor. Aber wie, wo, mit welcher Ausrüstung? Wer mich kennt weiß, dass ich eine gewisse Energie entwickeln kann, wenn ich einmal einen Plan im Kopf habe…

[direkt zu den Bildern]

Location

Da ich niemanden mit eigenem Pool kenne und diese in der Regel auch nicht tief genug sind, habe ich einfach mutig eine E-Mail an die Stuttgarter Bäderbetriebe geschrieben. Große Hoffnungen habe ich mir nicht gemacht und eher damit gerechnet, dass ich eine Absage erhalte („…zu kompliziert, zu gefährlich, gegen die Vorschriften, da könnte ja jeder kommen,…“). Nach 3 Tagen bekam ich einen Anruf von der Stadt und habe tatsächlich eine Absage erhalten. Diese war aber ganz anders begründet, als ich erwartet hatte. Frau Rudolph von den Bäderbetrieben hätte mir nämlich sehr gerne die Möglichkeit geboten, Aufnahmen in einem der städtischen Bäder zu machen. Da ich das aber außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten tun muss und dazu natürlich eine Aufsicht gebraucht wird, musste sie mir aufgrund Personalmangel leider absagen. Sie hatte sich bei allen Bädern in Stuttgart erkundigt um den Termin möglich zu machen und konnte mir nur eine erneute Kontaktaufnahme in 2017 anbieten. Da ich das Projekt aber nicht so lange aussetzen wollte, musste ich nach einer anderen Lösung suchen. Das Engagement von Frau Rudolph hat mich sehr gefreut und ihre offene Einstellung gegenüber meinem Projekt positiv überrascht. Danke dafür!

Nächster Anlauf: Das Bad“ F3″ in Fellbach angeschrieben. Fellbach hat mir gleich am nächsten Tag geantwortet und zugesagt, toll!
Da ich jedoch lieber in Heslach fotografieren wollte, habe ich im Internet nach Vereinen gesucht, die im Schwimmbad Heslach trainieren. So bin ich auf ich die Polizeitaucher des Poizeisportverein Stuttgart gestoßen, die dort jeden Montagabend trainieren. Eine weitere Idee hat sich im Hinterkopf entwickelt: Was, wenn ich sogar eine Tauchausrüstung leihen könnte (ich habe ja einen Tauchschein), damit ich nicht immer wieder zum Luftholen an die Oberfläche muss? Nach einigen E-Mail hatten wir einen gemeinsamen Termin fixiert (was nicht einfach war, aufgrund meiner vielen Geschäftsreisen) und mir wurde von Herrn Stolz, dem Abteilungsleiter der Taucher, sogar eine Tauchausrüstung angeboten! So stand dem Shooting im Schwimmbad Heslach nichts mehr im Weg…

Modell

Wie viele Modelle kenne ich, die sich im Kleid auf ein Tauch- und Schwimmabenteuer einlassen wollen und auch zu meinem Termin Zeit haben? Karolin hat gleich zugesagt. Leider hat es mit dem Termin nicht geklappt und so musste ich, nach vergeblicher Suche, Gwendolyn überreden. Sie steht absolut nicht gerne vor der Kamera aber da sie eine „Wasserratte“ ist, z.B. im Oktober noch im Bodensee baden geht, konnte ich sie mit dem Schwimmbad locken. Und sie hatte sogar zu diesem Termin Zeit.

Ausrüstung

Ein rotes, wallendes Kleid war erforderlich, idealerweise aus Kunstfaser. Sowas fand sich leider in keinem Kleiderschrank. Fündig geworden bin ich beim Kostümverleih „Das Gewand“. Für Lisa war es kein Problem, dass ich das Kleid im Schwimmbad benutzen wollte. Lustigerweise habe ich bei ihr im Laden einen professionellen Unterwasserfilmer/-fotografen kennengelernt, der z.B. Filme für O2 dreht. Er hat mich mit vielen Tipps versorgt, von denen die meisten aber leider, aufgrund meines schmalen Budgets, nicht umsetzbar waren. Spannend, was für Zufälle es im Leben gibt!

Ich habe keine Unterwasserkamera und keine Unterwasserlampen. Also bin ich auf die Suche nach einer anderen Möglichkeit gegangen und habe mir einen Beutel gekauft, in den ich meine Kamera reintun kann.

An den Beckenrand wollte ich eine Blitzlampe stellen, die als „Ersatzsonne“ auf die Wasseroberfläche leuchtet. Ausgelöst sollte die Lampe durch meinen Funkauslöser werden. Freund Bernd hat gleich gesagt „das geht nicht“. Ich habe die Kamera also mit dem Funkauslöser in den Beutel gepackt, in einen Eimer mit Wasser getan und probiert. Ging doch! Am Tag des Shootings habe ich jedoch im Internet gelesen, dass die Funkauslöser nur über kurze Distanz unter Wasser funktionieren. Mist, was nun? Letztendlich habe ich einen 6 m langen Vakuumierschlauch gekauft, ein Ende beim Metzger Kübler zuschweißen lassen und den Funkauslöser da rein getan, um ihn mit unter Wasser zu nehmen. Im Schlauch war ein 10 m langes Kabel (das ich am selben Tag noch basteln musste), welches ich dann an den Blitzporty angeschlossen habe.

Shooting

Zwei Stunden vor dem Shooting kam Gwendolyn, hat verschiedene Klamotten ausprobiert und wir haben uns für die Garderobe entschieden. Babs uns dann ins Schwimmbad begleitet und alle moralisch unterstützt.
Für das „Making Of“ konnte ich meinen Nachbarn Simon gewinnen, der Bilder vom Beckenrand aus gemacht hat.

Nachdem alles um Schwimmbad aufgebaut und eingestellt war, ging es los. Anfangs habe ich es nur mit Schnorchel probiert, was aber viel zu umständlich war. Ohne die Tauchausrüstung mit Pressluftflasche hätte es nicht geklappt! Insgesamt 45 min war ich im Wasser und habe dabei rund 150 Bilder gemacht. Alles hat super geklappt und ich bin sehr zufrieden mit den Ergebnissen! Seht selbst:

Fazit

Das war eine tolle Aktion, die mein Spektrum in der Fotografie wieder mal erweitert hat. Ich kann mir vorstellen, dass ich so etwas in absehbarer Zeit wieder einmal machen werden (dann bist Du dran, Karo) und ich hoffe, dass ich dann wieder so eine tolle Unterstützung bekommen werde.

Danke

  • An mein Modell Gwendolyn!
  • An die Polizeitaucher Stuttgart und insbesondere an Herrn Stolz, der den ganzen Abend im Schwimmbad war und mir die Ausrüstung geliehen hat!
  • An Simon, für die Fotodokumentation!
  • An Babs für moralischen Beistand, das Anreichen von Handtüchern und Taschenschleppen!
  • An Frau Rudolph von den Bäderbetrieben Stuttgart. Vielleicht kommen wir ja doch noch irgendwann zusammen.

Warum eigentlich "Underwater Love"?

This must be underwater love
The way I feel it slipping all over me
This must be underwater love
The way I feel it

O que que é esse amor, d’água
Deve sentir muito parecido a esse amor
O que que é esse amor, d’água
Deve sentir muito parecido a esse amor
Esse amor com paixão, ai
Esse amor com paixão, ai que coisa

After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again
After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again
After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again

This must be underwater love
The way I feel it slipping all over me
This must be underwater love
The way I feel it

O que que é esse amor, d’água
Eu sei que eu não quero mais nada

Follow me now
To a place you only dream of
Before I came along

When I first saw you
I was deep in clear blue water
The sun was shining
Calling me to come and see you

I touched your soft skin
And you jumped in with your eyes closed
And a smile upon your face

Você vem, você vai
Você vem e cai

E vem aqui pra cá
Porque eu quero te beijar na sua boca
Que coisa louca

Vem aqui pra cá
Porque eu quero te beijar na sua boca
Ai que boca gostosa

After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again
After the rain comes sun
After the sun comes rain again

Cai cai e tudo tudo cai
Tudo cai pra lá e pra cá
Pra lá e pra cá
E vamos nadar
Y vamos nadar e tudo tudo dá

This must be underwater love
The way I feel it slipping all over me
This must be underwater love
The way I feel it
Oh
Oh
d’água we are full

(Visited 163 times)

© 2017 Oliver Wendel all rights reserved

Weitersagen: